Dealing with hit and run accidents in New Jersey
If you are involved in a car accident in New Jersey and there is a personal injury or death to a person or property damage of more than $500, you are obligated by law to report the hit and run accident.
In the event of an accident, drivers must also come to a complete stop and seek assistance. People, unfortunately, do not always do what they are legally or morally compelled to do.
Occasionally, drivers abandon the scene of an accident, ignoring all legal requirements. So, if you or a loved one has been involved in a hit-and-run car accident, what can you do?
While others get lucky to have a law enforcement officer as a witness to the hit and run accident, most of the time there will only be civilians or bystanders to witness such an event.
Legal issues arise from hit-and-run accidents, which are best handled by an experienced attorney. The attorneys at Jaloudi Law can assist you in obtaining compensation or a settlement.
What steps should I take after a hit-and-run accident?
The most important thing is your health and safety, so call 911 right once if someone is wounded. Report a hit-and-run car accident in which the other motorist departed without providing any information or waiting for police.
Even if the authorities are unable to locate the responsible party, reporting the car accident will aid the claims process in the future. It will record the date, time, and location of the accident, as well as any injuries sustained by everyone involved.
Seeking assistance from a hit-and-run accident attorney will ensure you receive compensatory damages. An attorney winning such a case should reduce hit-and-run incidents assuring public safety for the community.
How can I get compensation for my injuries, property damages, and other losses?
You may be wondering where to seek compensation for your economic and non-economic damages if the liable person departed the site of the accident.
The first step is to save any proof you may have. Once you’ve made sure you and anyone else who may have been hurt are getting the attention you need, look for any witnesses to the accident. Take down their names, addresses, and phone numbers if there are any. Inquire if they were able to see anything about the vehicle that fled the scene, such as the make, color, driver, or license plate. Take pictures of the scene, your vehicle, and any injuries you may have.
This will aid you in filing a claim with your insurance carrier. Examine the surroundings for any video cameras that may have captured the accident.
Can I file a claim with my own Insurance Company?
You can file a claim with your own insurance carrier if you are covered by a vehicle insurance policy and have uninsured motorists’ coverage. In these cases, the uninsured and underinsured motorist policy protects you. It protects you from losses and damages caused by those who are either uninsured or underinsured. As a result, it is critical to ensure you have appropriate coverage in the event you are involved in an accident.
What if I don’t have UM/UIM Coverage?
If you don’t have uninsured motorist coverage, you may be able to submit a claim with the New Jersey Property-Liability Insurance Guaranty Association (NJPLIGA). NJ PLIGA was created to help victims who had no coverage due to no fault of their own. For personal injuries, however, reimbursement is restricted to $15,000.00. There are also rigorous deadlines and notice requirements.
Contact an experienced lawyer in New Jersey for hit-and-run accidents
In a hit-and-run car accident, the legal process can be rather complicated. You require the services of an experienced attorney who can help you achieve just compensation. Our North Jersey attorneys at Jaloudi Law are dedicated to vigorously fighting for your rights. The consultation is free and you will not be charged legal fees until you receive compensation.